Marathon Cookies Recipe

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

A while back on Instagram I posted one of my all time favourite recipes made from KIDNEY BEANS. Yes that’s right Kidney Beans. Don’t leave me just yet, there are more ingredients to it as well, like delicious dates and my favourite spice, Cardamom. Trust me when I say they are so so delicious and kinda healthy for you as well. I am the most hard to please when it comes to food. With that being said I would never share a recipe y’all wouldn’t try. Every time I’ve made these cookies, even the pickiest of eaters (my nephews) would drool for them.

This recipe was first introduced to me back in 2013 in the Northwest Territories where I had worked a bit for the summer. There was a small bakery stand inside the local community centre where this sweet lady from New Zealand baked these delicious cookies and much more. It was fate that I had entered her shop the day I did, and I immediately requested the baker to make some more. She shared with me the recipe and I’ve been hooked to these cookies ever since! With many years of baking this recipe and my own minor tweaks to it, I am finally sharing it to everyone! I hope you all enjoy, and Happy Baking.

Prep Time: 30 min

Baking Time: ~11-15 min

Ingredients

2 cups rolled oats
1 cup wholemeal flour
2 teaspoons cardamom ( You can get away with adding a little more)
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon fine grain sea salt (or regular salt if you do not have any)

1 teaspoon flaxseed powder or meal (optional)

1  15-ounce can kidney beans (or 1 1/2 cups cooked dried beans)
1/4 cup olive oil
1 cup natural cane sugar (or brown sugar)
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract ( I use alcohol free extract)
1/2 cup chopped dates
1/3 cup sesame seeds

 

As per baking requirements, preheat your oven to 350˚F (180˚C) and place a rack in the middle of the oven. (The reason why we preheat the oven is to make sure that the oven is heated evenly and therefore the cookies are able to cook evenly in the oven). For best results, line the cookie sheet with wax paper (parchment paper) so the cookies do not stick to the pan. DO NOT add grease to the wax paper, it will toast the sesame seeds at the bottom of the cookie and will taste funny. Trust me on that!

Pulse the oats in a food processor until becomes like a lumpy flour. Transfer the oats to a large mixing bowl and whisk in the flour, cardamom, baking powder, baking soda, salt and flaxseed meal.

Pulse the beans and olive oil in the food processor until creamy. Add in the sugar, egg, and vanilla extract and pulse until smooth. Don’t forget to scrap down the sides of the food processor to get all of the ingredients well blended.

Pour the wet ingredients over the dry ingredients and stir until the ingredients start to blend together. Add the dates across the top of the batter and gently mix in.

Place the sesames seeds in a deep plate dish. Take a scoop of the cookie dough, depending on how big or small you want it, I usually take a big table spoon size and roll it into a ball.  Roll all the cookies into a ball and place them on the cookie rack. Once all the dough is made up into balls, take one and flatten it a bit and coat it with sesame seeds.

Leave an inch of space in between each cookie as it will spread out a bit. Bake for about 11- 15 minutes or until you see cracks in the cookie. Leave it to cool for 5 minutes before serving.

Enjoy!

 

Recipe adapted from Delacasa.

 

One thought on “Marathon Cookies Recipe

Leave a Reply

